Board of Directors

PHE Canada is governed by a volunteer Board of Directors comprised of elected and appointed champions and leaders committed to the health and well-being of Canadian children and youth.



Jo Sheppard
University of Alberta
Edmonton, AB

President Elect

Kellie profile photo

Kellie Baker (she/her)
Department of Education 
St. John’s, NL 

Representative for British Columbia


Steve McGinley
University of British Columbia 
Port Moody, BC 

 Representative for Northwest Territories

Colin Pybus.png

Colin Pybus
District Office of the Beaufort-Delta Divisional Education Council
Inuvik, NT

Representative for Alberta & NWT

Astrid profile photo.png

Astrid Kendrick, Ed.D.
University of Calgary
Calgary, AB

Representative for Saskatchewan


Jennifer Buettner
Saskatoon Public Schools
Saskatoon, SK

Representative Manitoba & Nunavut

Cyril Indome Profile.jpg

Cyril Indome
Louis Riel School Division
Winnipeg, MB

Representative for Ontario


Rebecca Richardson
Halton District School Board 
Burlington, ON

Representative for Québec

Krista Smeltzer profile

Krista Smeltzer
Champlain College Saint Lambert
St-Lambert, QC

Representative for New Brunswick

Joe Crossland profile

Joe Crossland
Anglophone School District West 
Fredericton, NB

Representative for Nova Scotia

Jen McKenzie profile photo

Jen McKenzie
Halifax Regional Centre for Education
Dartmouth, NS

Representative for Prince Edward Island

Allister profile photo

Allister Smith
Department of Education and Early Years  
Mermaid, PEI

Representative for Newfoundland and Labrador

Jacinta McGrath

Jacinta McGrath
Baltimore High School
Mobile, NL

Appointed Board Member


Sabrina Razack
University of Toronto
Pickering, ON

Appointed Board Member

  Brian (Mick) McMillan

Brian (Mick) McMillan
Frontier School Division 
Cranberry Portage, MB



Antony Card
Mount Saint Vincent University
Halifax, NS